Objekt-Metadaten

Die Protein-Monoaminylierung als regulatorischer Mechanismus in der Signaltransduktion
Vowinckel, Jakob

Main titleDie Protein-Monoaminylierung als regulatorischer Mechanismus in der Signaltransduktion
Title variationsProtein-monoaminylation - a novel regulatory mechanism in signal transduction
Author(s)Vowinckel, Jakob
Place of birth: Köln
1. RefereeProf. Dr. Constance Scharff
Further Referee(s)Prof. Dr. Petra Knaus
Keywordsserotonin; transglutaminase; serotonylation; monoaminylation
Classification (DDC)572 Biochemistry
SummaryThe biogenic monoamines serotonin (5-HT), histamine (HA), dopamine (DA) and norepinephrine (NE) act as neurotransmitters and hormones in controlling crucial functions of the mammalian organism. A recently discovered posttranslational modification (serotonylation) involves the covalent binding of 5 HT to protein-bound glutamine (Q) residues of small G proteins. This reaction, catalysed by the enzyme family of transglutaminases (TGM), results in a change in the G protein’s GTP hydrolysis activity.
In the attempt to clarify whether this phenomenon is restricted to 5 HT, the four monoamines 5 HT, HA, DA and NE were investigated both in vitro and in cell culture. Eight small and two heterotrimeric GTPases, as well as phospholipase A2 (PLA2), were analysed in combination with TGM1, 2, 3 and fXIIIA as well as four monoamines revealing that the TGM-dependent incorporation of monoamines (monoaminylation) is a specific reaction. HA incorporation (histaminylation) proved to be most prominent, followed by DA, NE and 5 HT. Histaminylation of small and heterotrimeric GTPases results in a functional change, shown using GTP hydrolysis experiments and effector binding studies. As a result of the diminished intrinsic and GAP-mediated hydrolysis, Gαo1 and Cdc42 become constitutively activated and remain in the active, GTP-bound state. This then leads to an increased affinity to the binding partners RGS4 and Pak3. PLA2 histaminylation in contrast results in a significantly elevated lypolytic activity.
The fact that the catalytic centres of most GTPases contain a conserved Q residue suggested that the residue is specifically modified by monoaminylation. Using a mass spectronomy approach, this hypothesis could be substantiated as fragment ion spectra of Gαo1, Gαq and Rab18 revealed the modified catalytic Q residue. Histaminylation can therefore be regarded as a novel TGM-dependent regulatory posttranslational modification of signalling proteins.
Furthermore, eight cell lines of different origin were characterized in respect of the expression of four monoamine transporters and seven TGM, and monoamine uptake as well as protein incorporation were measured. The assessment of TGM dependence was possible using the competitive inhibitor cysteamine. The results suggest that monoaminylation occurs in most cell lines in varying amount. Dopaminylation was most pronounced, but NE, HA and 5 HT incorporation was also detectable. According to these findings, monoaminylation is taking place in many different cell types.
In order to identify signal transduction pathways regulated by this modification, PC12 and 3T3 L1 cells were challenged with the DA derivative DA-biotin, which was developed in the course of this thesis, or the commercial 5-(biotinamido)pentylamine. In both cases, covalently modified proteins were isolated and identified by mass spectronomy, revealing that a multitude of proteins are monoaminylation substrates. Among them are proteins involved in protein biosynthesis and folding, glycolysis, fatty acid metabolism, signal transduction and mitochondrial function. Of the potentially modified proteins, Rab1b, NPM1 and AnxA2 were analysed in detail verifying the monoaminylation of NPM1 and Rab1b in PC12 cells.
With the help of the results presented here, a detailed analysis of protein monoaminylation as a novel posttranslational modification capable of fine-tuning multifarious cellular functions is now possible.
Documents
PDF-Datei
If your browser can't open the file, please download the file first and then open it
 
Number of pages151 S.
FU DepartmentDepartment of Biology, Chemistry and Pharmacy
Year of publication2012
Document typeDoctoral thesis
Media type/FormatText
LanguageGerman
Terms of use/Rights Nutzungsbedingungen
Date of defense2011-06-22
Created at2012-01-02 : 09:55:33
Last changed2012-01-02 : 09:55:51
 
Static URLhttp://www.diss.fu-berlin.de/diss/receive/FUDISS_thesis_000000023285
NBNurn:nbn:de:kobv:188-fudissthesis000000023285-6
Statistics

Objekt-Metadaten

Die Protein-Monoaminylierung als regulatorischer Mechanismus in der Signaltransduktion
Vowinckel, Jakob

HaupttitelDie Protein-Monoaminylierung als regulatorischer Mechanismus in der Signaltransduktion
TitelvarianteProtein-monoaminylation - a novel regulatory mechanism in signal transduction
AutorVowinckel, Jakob
Geburtsort: Köln
GutachterProf. Dr. Constance Scharff
weitere GutachterProf. Dr. Petra Knaus
Freie Schlagwörterserotonin; transglutaminase; serotonylation; monoaminylation
DDC572 Biochemie
ZusammenfassungDie biogenen Monoamine Serotonin (5 HT), Histamin (HA), Dopamin (DA) und Norepinephrin (NE) sind Neurotransmitter und Hormone, die wichtige Funktionen des Säugerorganismus regulieren. Kürzlich wurde über eine neuartige posttranslationale Modifikation von kleinen G-Proteinen berichtet, bei der unter bestimmten Bedingungen 5 HT kovalent mit einem proteingebundenen Glutamin (Q)-Rest verknüpft wird. Durch diese Reaktion, die von Enzymen der Transglutaminase (TGM)-Familie katalysiert wird, verändert sich die katalytische GTPase-Aktivität der Signalproteine.
Um zu klären, ob es sich dabei um ein auf 5 HT beschränktes Phänomen oder einen generellen Regulationsmechanismus handelt, wurden die vier Monoamine 5 HT, HA, DA und NE in vitro und in Zellkultur untersucht. Zunächst wurden dazu acht kleine und zwei heterotrimere GTPasen sowie Phospholipase A2 (PLA2) in Kombination mit TGM1, 2, 3 und fXIIIA sowie den vier Monoaminen mit dem Ergebnis analysiert, dass die TGM-abhängige Inkorporation von Monoaminen (Monoaminylierung) spezifisch erfolgt. Dabei ist die HA-Inkorporation (Histaminylierung) am stärksten, gefolgt von DA, NE und 5 HT. Nach einer Histaminylierung verändert sich die Funktion der kleinen und heterotrimeren GTPasen, wie mittels GTP-Hydrolyse-Experimenten und Effektor-Bindungsstudien gezeigt werden konnte. Bedingt durch eine verminderte intrinsische und GAP-vermittelte Hydrolyseaktivität verleiben Gαo1 und Cdc42 konstitutiv im GTP-gebundenen, aktiven Zustand und binden somit verstärkt an die Bindungspartner RGS4 bzw. Pak3. Im Gegensatz dazu wird die PLA2-Aktivität durch Histaminylierung signifikant verstärkt.
Da nahezu alle GTPasen einen konservierten Q-Rest im katalytischen Zentrum besitzen, lag die Vermutung nahe dass dieser Rest durch TGM modifiziert wird. Tatsächlich konnte die Hypothese mittels massenspektrometrischer Untersuchung der Fragmentierungsmuster von Gαo1, Gαq und Rab18 bestätigt werden. Im Prinzip kann die Histaminylierung damit als eine neuartige, TGM-vermittelte regulatorische posttranslationale Modifikation von Signalproteinen vorgestellt werden.
Nach einer Analyse von acht Zelllinien unterschiedlicher Gewebetypen hinsichtlich der Expression von vier Monoamin-Transportern und sieben TGM wurden Monoamin-Aufnahme und –Inkorporation bestimmt. Anhand des kompetitiven Inhibitors Cysteamin wurde dabei die TGM-Abhängigkeit beurteilt. Es zeigte sich, dass in allen untersuchten Zelllinien eine Monoaminylierung stattfand, wenn auch in unterschiedlichem Ausmaß. Am deutlichsten war die Dopaminylierung, doch auch NE- und HA- und 5 HT-Inkorporation waren detektierbar. Die Monoaminylierung ist demnach eine in vielen Zellen vorkommende Erscheinung.
Um potenziell durch diese Modifikation regulierte Signalwege zu identifizieren, wurden PC12- und 3T3 L1-Zellen mit einem selbst entwickelten DA-Derivat (DA-biotin) oder dem kommerziellen 5 (Biotinamido)-Pentylamin behandelt und kovalent modifizierte Proteine durch Massenspektrometrie identifiziert. Demnach sind eine Vielzahl von Proteinen Substrate der Monoaminylierung. Sie gehören wichtigen Funktionsgruppen an wie Proteinbiosynthese und –Faltung, Glykolyse und Fettsäuremetabolismus, Signaltransduktion und Mitochondrienfunktion. Die Substratproteine Rab1b, NPM1 und AnxA2 wurden genauer untersucht, wobei für NPM1 und Rab1b eine Monoaminylierung in PC12-Zellen verifiziert werden konnte.
Anhand dieser Erkenntnisse kann nun eine detaillierte Analyse der Monoaminylierung erfolgen, die als regulatorische posttranslationale Modifikation eine Feinregulierung vielfältiger zellulärer Funktionen erlaubt.
Dokumente
PDF-Datei
Falls Ihr Browser eine Datei nicht öffnen kann, die Datei zuerst herunterladen und dann öffnen.
 
Seitenzahl151 S.
Fachbereich/EinrichtungFB Biologie, Chemie, Pharmazie
Erscheinungsjahr2012
Dokumententyp/-SammlungenDissertation
Medientyp/FormatText
SpracheDeutsch
Rechte Nutzungsbedingungen
Tag der Disputation22.06.2011
Erstellt am02.01.2012 - 09:55:33
Letzte Änderung02.01.2012 - 09:55:51
 
Statische URLhttp://www.diss.fu-berlin.de/diss/receive/FUDISS_thesis_000000023285
URNurn:nbn:de:kobv:188-fudissthesis000000023285-6
Zugriffsstatistik